Skip to product information
1 of 1


Beautiful Things

Beautiful Things

UPC: 881410005621

Format: CD

Release Date: Feb 16, 2010

Regular price $4.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $4.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Personnel: Michael Gungor (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, banjo, harmonica, melodica, piano, toy piano); Brad Waller (vocals, electric guitar, banjo, cello, drums); Lisa Gungor (vocals, piano, toy piano, keyboards, glockenspiel, loops); Israel Houghton (vocals); Michael Rossback (electric guitar, trumpet); David Davidson (violin); John Catchings (cello); Donovan Gorb (flute); John Arndt (piano, organ); Rob Gungor (organ); Andy Burtschi (upright bass); Daniel Grothe (drums).
Recording information: A Hotel; Michael and Lisa's House; Random Studios; The Mountains.
Gungor's second release on the Brash label is a departure that shows exceptional growth for the worship team. The group employs the same passion that became the life of Ancient Skies, but comparisons to their national debut reveal a more authentic and versatile approach. Gungor sound like anything but corporate worship. On the first four tracks alone, the album travels from pensive acoustic praise ("Dry Bones" and the title track) to toe-tapping congregational rock ("Brighter Day") all the way to a funky urban groove ("Heaven") with guest vocalist Israel Houghton leading the jam. The band's varied takes on modern worship are much lauded and welcomed steps in the right direction. The bells-and-strings intro on "The Earth Is Yours" gives way to a singalong chorus that recalls the best parts of Brandon Heath and Shane & Shane. At first listen, Gungor's eclectic approach seems to keep the album from having a cohesive flow, but repeated listens eventual yield an underlying theme both musically and lyrically that gives it unexpected depth. With the group's natural passion, it's easy for listeners to relish in the heart of each song, making Beautiful Things a worthwhile worship experience. ~ Jared Johnson


1 - Dry Bones
2 - Beautiful Things
3 - Brighter Day
4 - Heaven
5 - You Have Me
6 - Cannot Keep You
7 - Earth Is Yours
8 - Call Me Out
9 - Please Be My Strength
10 - Higher
11 - Late Have I Loved You
12 - People of God
13 - We Will Run