Skip to product information
1 of 1

Amy Grant

Behind the Eyes

Behind the Eyes

UPC: 080688528522

Format: CD

Release Date:

Regular price $5.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $5.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Personnel includes: Amy Grant (vocals, acoustic guitar); Wayne Kirkpatrick (acoustic guitar, hammered dulcimer, background vocals); Jerry McPherson (acoustic & electric guitars, keyboards); Keith Thomas (acoustic & electric guitars, keyboards, programming); William Owsley (acoustic & electric guitars, background vocals); Gordon Kennedy (acoustic & electric guitars); Dan Huff, Kenny Greenberg (electric guitar); Greg Leisz (pedal steel guitar); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Sam Levine (flute); Tim Lauer (accordion, Wurlitzer piano, melodica); Phil Madeira (accordion, Hammond B-3 organ); Larry Klein (bass, fretless bass); Spencer Campbell, Byron House (bass); Mark Hammond (Hammond B-3 organ, drums, programming); Chad Cromwell, Dann Needham (drums).
Recorded at The Bennet House, and Secret Sound, Franklin, Tennessee; at The October Studio, Nashville, Tennessee.
Amy Grant makes a u-turn on BEHIND THE EYES. She abandons the glossy production and synthesized sound of her last two albums in favor of a rougher, more acoustic texture and more honest and personal songs. The result is an easy mixture of accessible adult pop and down-to-earth folk-rock which dwells both on broad spirituality and human relationships.
This album is likely to please Grant's more recent fans just as it delights her older ones, who remember her acoustic and Christian-rock roots. Despite the often palpable sadness on BEHIND THE EYES, Grant retains her endless buoyant optimism and faith. On "Somewhere Down the Road," she sings with typical shimmering assurance "Though we cannot see it now/Somewhere down the road/You will find mighty arms reaching for you/And they will hold the answers at the end of the road."


1 - Nobody Home
2 - I Will Be Your Friend
3 - Like I Love You
4 - Takes a Little Time
5 - Cry a River
6 - Turn This World Around
7 - Curious Thing
8 - Every Road
9 - Leave It All Behind
10 - Missing You
11 - Feeling I Had
12 - Somewhere Down the Road