Skip to product information
1 of 1

Daryl Coley

Best of Daryl Coley: Ten Songs

Best of Daryl Coley: Ten Songs

UPC: 886975068722

Format: CD

Release Date: Aug 08, 2002

Regular price $4.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $4.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 6 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel includes: Daryl Coley (vocals); Vanessa Bell Armstrong.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Coley is a legendary vocalist and a world-class psalmist who has raised the standard of solo male performances in gospel music -- a perfect addition to Verity's New Gospel Legends Series. Many of the tracks here are from Live in Oakland: Home Again, and thus offer the irresistible combination of the raw power of Coley's voice and a more spontaneous sense of arrangement. The first two tracks, "I Will Bless Your Name" and "Don't Give Up on Jesus," epitomize the two basic vibes here, the jumpy and toe-tappin' and the intense guttural ballad anthem. Coley gives powerful, guttural interpretations of both original material and classic hymns, the latter most notably in the a cappella "Medley of Praise" (from Verity Records: Live at the Apollo) and the album-closing Christmas medley. In this context, the holiday songs take on a much richer spiritual meaning -- even if his solo sections slow down the spunky joy of the other part of the songs. ~ Jonathan Widran


1 - I Will Bless Your Name
2 - Don't Give Up on Jesus
3 - Jesus Saves
4 - Oh, the Lamb
5 - II Chronicles
6 - Because He's God
7 - Removal of the Mask
8 - No Fear
9 - Medley of Praise: We Exalt Thee/Welcome Into This Place/Reign Jesus Reign
10 - Carol of the Bells/Silver Bells; Carol of the Bells/Silver Bells