Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Letter Black

Hanging on by a Thread

Hanging on by a Thread

UPC: 5099968581329

Format: CD

Release Date: May 04, 2010

Regular price $15.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $15.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Personnel: Sarah Anthony (vocals, background vocals); Mark Anthony (guitar, background vocals); Michalis Koutsoupides (violin, viola); Matthew Johnson (cello); Jeff Wilken (piano); Kirke Jan (drums, percussion).
Audio Mixer: J.R. McNeely .
Recording information: Compound Recording, Seattle, WA; Lakeside Studios, Knoxville, TN; The Culture House Studios, Olathe, KS; Tomahawk, Franklin, TN.
Occupying the middle ground between Evanescence's moody metal and Paramore's punchy pop, Hanging on by a Thread presents the Letter Black as the latest in a long line of female-fronted hard rock acts. On tracks like "All I Want," the group sounds downright vicious, with bombshell vocalist Sarah Anthony pitching her vocals over palm-muted power chords, cymbal crashes, and the occasional string orchestra. The group has roots in the church, though, and most of these songs are more melodic than metallic, drawing upon Anthony's experience as a praise team leader for maximum singalong potential. Throughout it all, the Letter Black plays with Christian themes without explicitly flaunting their own religion, resulting in an album that targets church-going listeners without alienating those who are turned off by such things. ~ Andrew Leahey


1 - Fire with Fire
2 - Invisible
3 - Hanging on by a Thread
4 - Believe
5 - There'll Come a Day
6 - My Disease
7 - I'm Just Fine
8 - Best of Me
9 - All I Want
10 - Moving On
11 - More to This
12 - Care Too Much
13 - Wounded