Skip to product information
1 of 1


Am I Pretty?

Am I Pretty?

UPC: 074646930724

Format: CD

Release Date: Jun 02, 1998

Regular price $4.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $4.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Skypark: Tyrone Wells (vocals); Tony Deerfield (acoustic & electric guitars, bass); Joey Aszterbaum (guitar, piano, background vocals); Keith Gove (drums).
Additional personnel: Mike Tyler, Marc Ford (guitar); Pete Jacobs (strings); Stan Endicott (piano); Andy Kravitz (loops).
Principally recorded at Mad Hatter Studios, Los Angeles, California.
Audio Mixer: Butcher Bros.
Recording information: Coast Recording, San F; Crossroa Studio, Costa Mesa, CA; Mad Hatter Studios, LA, CA; R&R Mixing Lab, Garden Grove, CA.
The Butcher Brothers at first seem like a strange choice to produce Am I Pretty?, the first album by the modern Christian rock band Skypark. After all, the pair became famous through their work with Cypress Hill and Urge Overkill, two of the most hedonistic bands of the '90s. Nevertheless, the pair are professionals, and they're clean, muscular sound is perfectly-suited for modern rock radio -- and if Skypark are anything, they're post-alternative modern-rockers. Yes, there is an underlying religious theme to the music, but the streamlined punk-funk and alt-pop makes Am I Pretty? accessible to all listeners. There's a bit of a problem in terms of consistency -- not all of these songs have memorable hooks, but there are enough catchy tunes to make it a promising debut. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1 - Am I Pretty?
2 - Emily's Love Song
3 - Face of an Angel
4 - My Mirror
5 - Nondescript
6 - Wizard of Id
7 - Shelter
8 - See Through Me
9 - Cycle Me Through
10 - Strabucks Girl
11 - Here Come the Bugs
12 - Christ Will Save You
13 - Cycle Me Through