Skip to product information
1 of 1


Awake [Deluxe Edition] [Bonus Tracks]

Awake [Deluxe Edition] [Bonus Tracks]

UPC: 075678958601

Format: CD

Release Date: Aug 25, 2009

Regular price $11.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $11.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel: Jen Ledger (vocals, drums); John Cooper , John L. Cooper (vocals); Benjamin Judah Kasica, Ben Kasica (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Jonathan Chu (violin); Korey Cooper (keyboards, programming, keyboard programming); Howard Benson (keyboards).
Audio Mixers: Chris Lord-Alge; Andrew Schubert; Brand Townsend.
Recording information: Bay 7 Studios; Sparky Dark, Calabasas, CA; Valley Village, CA.
Photographer: David Molnar.
The highest-charting Christian album on the Billboard charts since 2006, Awake could be tagged as Skillet's mainstream breakthrough on that fact alone. Certainly, the band's monster modern rock does sound like it could slip onto an active rock playlist -- maybe not quite in 2009, but earlier in the decade, when metallic rockers heavy on the guitar downstrokes and power ballads with chant-along vocals were relatively common. That's not to say that Skillet sound out-of-step with the times -- there's still a gleam to the Howard Benson production that sounds modern -- and they do mange to imprint their own identity on this sometimes generic brand of contemporary rock, thanks to their communal vocals, with male and female voices trading off and skyscraper hooks. Skillet also don't always focus solely on religion, as many of their songs are grounded in inspirational positivity, so that's another reason why Awake finds the band poised to break into the mainstream. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1 - Hero
2 - Monster
3 - Don't Wake Me
4 - Awake and Alive
5 - One Day Too Late
6 - It's Not Me It's You
7 - Should've When You Could've
8 - Believe
9 - Forgiven
10 - Sometimes
11 - Never Surrender
12 - Lucy
13 - Dead Inside
14 - Would It Matter
15 - Monster [Radio Edit]
16 - [Cd-Rom Track]