Skip to product information
1 of 1

Philip Bailey

Chinese Wall/Inside Out

Chinese Wall/Inside Out

UPC: 740155211936

Format: CD (2 disc)

Release Date: Mar 26, 2012

Regular price $10.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Personnel: Don Myrick (saxophone); Rhamlee Davis, Michael Harris (trumpet); Louis Satterfield (trombone).
Audio Mixer: James Farber.
Audio Remasterer: Phil Kinrade.
Liner Note Author: Tony Rounce.
Recording information: Ocean Way Studios, LA; Skyline Studios, NY; The Complex, LA; The Power Station, NY; The Townhouse Studios, London, England; The Townhouse, London.
Roughly two years after Funky Town Grooves reissued Philip Bailey's first solo secular album (1983's Continuation), the U.K.'s Edsel label combined the singer's second and third solo albums of secular material. This two-disc set starts with 1984's Chinese Wall; produced by Phil Collins, it features the mainstream hit duet "Easy Lover," as well as a fine cover of the Real Thing's "Children of the Ghetto." The album reached number 22 on the Billboard 200. Disc two is 1986's Nile Rodgers-produced Inside Out, which did not fare nearly as well. The dub mix of "State of the Heart" is the lone bonus. A thick booklet provides track-by-track credits and lyrics, as well as in-depth liner notes. ~ Andy Kellman


Disc 1:
1 - Photogenic Memory
2 - I Go Crazy
3 - Walking on the Chinese Wall
4 - For Every Heart That's Been Broken
5 - Go
6 - Easy Lover
7 - Show You the Way to Love
8 - Time Is a Woman
9 - Woman
10 - Children of the Ghetto
Disc 2:
1 - Welcome to the Club
2 - State of the Heart
3 - Long Distance Love
4 - Echo My Heart
5 - Don't Leave Me Baby
6 - Special Effect
7 - Because of You
8 - Back It Up
9 - Take This with You
10 - Day Will Come
11 - State of the Heart [Dub Mix]