Skip to product information
1 of 1

JJ Hairston & Youthful Praise

I See Victory

I See Victory

UPC: 015095732125

Format: CD

Release Date: Oct 28, 2014

Regular price $11.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $11.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel: Takia Hardy, Jennifer Harrison, Lakesha Corbitt, Erica Wilkins, Kymberli Rush, Jenifer Johnson, Angel Chisolm, Kercia Holden, Tamar St. Julien (soprano); Marc Britt, Dave McClure, Anton Adams, Stephon Hawkins, Woodrow Vereen, Marcus Morton, Jeremiah Sharpe, Michael Edwards, Marcus Morton Vereen, Sam Walker, Greg Kirkland (tenor); Vindell Smith, Lawrence Jones, Chris Russo, Prashant Murthy (guitar); Lloyd Barry (strings, horns); Phil Lassiter (horns); Mike Davis, Ira Noise, Tom Powell, Brandon Smith , Sean Walters (organ); Eric Davis, Adam Askew, David Brown Jr., Jerome Kirkland (keyboards); Mike Clemmons, Brandon Maclin, Billy Powell (drums); Javier Solís, Rodney Kennedy (percussion); Rashad McPherson, Taloine Daniels (background vocals).
Recording information: First Cathedral Church, Bloomfield, CT; Horizon Studios, West Haven, CT; TFC Studios, Bloomfield, CT.
Photographer: T'Rah Holiday.
J.J Hairston & Youthful Praise have, for over a decade, been pioneers in pushing the boundaries of contemporary worship music, integrating urban gospel with slick R&B and pop through nearly ingenious innovations for chorale. As evidenced by its pre-release single "Bless Me," with the muscular lead vocals of guests Donnie McClurkin and Greg Kirkland, this unit has reached a peak on I See Victory. There are other celebrity soloists here too, including Karen Clark Sheard, VaShawn Mitchell, and Deon Kipping, as well as Zebulon Ellis -- who fronts the group on the anthem "It Pushed Me." The presence of guest stars isn't a slight to Youthful Praise's singers, but a testament to the kind of support only they can deliver. The proof is that there are just as many homegrown standouts here, including "Wonders to Perform," with Brittney Wright up front, and the celebratory soul of "Good to Me," featuring Tiffany Andrews-Woodside in the soloist's role. And the stomping closer, "The Blood Still Works," showcasing the earthshaking vocals of YP's Fondrea Lynn Lewis, is an example of modern, rocking gospel at its very best. ~ Thom Jurek


1 - Nothing Compares
2 - You're Mighty
3 - Bless Me
4 - It Pushed Me
5 - You Are Worthy
6 - You Are Worthy (Reprise)
7 - I Feel You Moving
8 - You Are Great
9 - Wonders to Perform
10 - All Things Well
11 - Awe of You
12 - Good to Me
13 - Blood Still Works