Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Afters

Light Up the Sky

Light Up the Sky

UPC: 886977501623

Format: CD

Release Date: Sep 14, 2010

Regular price $4.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $4.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 5 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel: Josh Havens (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Matthew Fuqua (vocals, guitar); Dan Ostebo (vocals); Jordan Mohilowski (drums); Dan Muckala (programming).
Audio Mixer: Reid Shippen.
Recording information: Glomo Studios, Nashville, TN.
Editors: Dan Deurloo; Chuck Butler.
Photographer: Esther Havens.
The third album from Texas rockers the Afters reveals the band effortlessly crafting singalong hooks. Continuing with their familiar formula, the band firmly latches onto a OneRepublic-meets-Snow Patrol sound that targets millennial listeners. Several tracks from their first two albums make their way onto TV shows from The Hills and Rachael Ray to Army Wives and more. "Light Up the Sky" follows suit with track after track perfectly fitted for the small screen, skimming the surface of the human condition with themes of love and faith that can easily be condensed into 30-second snippets. Lead singer Josh Havens' tenor is a transcendent blend of Coldplay's Chris Martin and OneRepublic's Ryan Tedder, particularly in the captivating falsetto on "Start Over." The group has never sounded more resolute and practically punk-like as they do on "We Won't Give Up," which is propelled by the album's hardest rocking guitar riff. "Life Is Sweeter" and "I Am Yours" are carried by the band's characteristic buoyant, alternative rock energy that shows that this is still the Afters that fans know and love. Credit producer Dan Muckala for evoking more authentic emotion than on the band's previous two efforts and for helping the talented songwriters craft this collection of upbeat and, at times, breathtaking, rock. ~ Jared Johnson


1 - Light Up the Sky
2 - Lift Me Up
3 - Start Over
4 - Runaway
5 - I Am Yours
6 - Life Is Sweeter
7 - Say It Now
8 - We Won't Give Up
9 - Saving Grace
10 - For the First Time