Skip to product information
1 of 1

Hillary Scott & the Scott Family

Love Remains

Love Remains

UPC: 602547919700

Format: CD

Release Date: Jul 29, 2016

Regular price $10.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $10.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Where her Lady Antebellum bandmate Charles Kelley decided to continue their band's pop-oriented country sound on his 2016 solo album, The Driver, Hillary Scott opted for something introspective for her own 2016 project, Love Remains. Teaming up with her family -- mother Linda Davis, father Lang Scott, and sister Rylee -- Scott decided to cut a modern gospel album with Ricky Skaggs acting as producer. Some of Love Remains certainly contains churchy elements -- a gospel choir graces "The River," there's a version of the old hymn "Come Thou Fount" -- but this isn't an album that trades in overt religious tropes. Thanks in part to Skaggs' understated production, Love Remains is a subtle, moving work occupying a common ground between contemporary country, modern worship, and traditional gospel. By emphasizing the quiet moments, it's an album that undersells its big emotional showcases, including "Thy Will," a song Hillary Scott wrote in the wake of a miscarriage in 2015. Such confessionals give the record a rich resonance, painting the personal as a spiritual matter, a trick that's rarely attempted on country gospel albums. Scott pulls this off because Love Remains is indeed a family affair -- she gains sustenance from the very presence of her parents and sister, who provide not only harmonies but a palpable bond of tradition -- and it's also a record that prizes intimacy. Because of this, Love Remains can be appreciated as a soothing bath but also rewards a close listen, a listen that reveals the deep feeling underpinning every track. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


1 - Beautiful Messes
2 - Still
3 - Sheltered in the Arms of God
4 - Safe Haven
5 - Faithful Love of Jesus
6 - River (Come on Down)
7 - Thy Will
8 - Untitled Hymn (Come to Jesus)
9 - Love Remains
10 - We March On
11 - Your Unfailing Love
12 - Come Thou Fount
13 - Ain't No Grave