Skip to product information
1 of 1

Erin O'Donnell

No Place So Far

No Place So Far

UPC: 080688605322

Format: CD

Release Date: Mar 20, 2001

Regular price $12.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $12.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel: Erin O'Donnell (vocals); Steve Leiweke (acoustic & nylon-string guitars); Glenn Rosenstein (electric & slide guitars, Hammond B-3 organ, Mellotron, glockenspiel); Gary Burnett (electric guitar); Blair Masters (Wuritzer piano, Hammond B-3 organ, chamberlin, Melotron, keyboards); Mark Hill, Craig Young (bass); Dan Needham (drums, programming); Ken Lewis (Udu drum, maracas, shaker, tambourine, triangle, percussion).
If ever a contemporary Christian singer stands to inherit the throne of Amy Grant for this generation, it's the silky-voiced Erin O'Donnell -- who delivers with equal conviction and emotional power on modern rock-influenced gems like "There You Are" and ballads like "Hold on to Jesus." This latter tune is a beautiful dedication to her daughter Quinn that tells her the secret of a successful spiritual life in the midst of the harsh realities she'll grow up to face. It's very much a family affair all around, with O'Donnell voicing the memorable lyrics and instantly catchy melodies penned by husband Brad O'Donnell. The overriding message is one of hope...God's redemption of our "Damaged Goods," knowing that "Your Love Will Get Me There," and the blessed assurance that "There Is No Fear in Love." Producer Glenn Rosenstein seems to enjoy putting her in the context of crunchy guitars and big sonic ideas, which sometimes threaten to overshadow the singer (his occasional use of the Hammond B-3 adds an irresistibly welcome bluesy touch). But her voice shines through. It would be exciting to see more secular audiences come to appreciate her. ~ Jonathan Widran


1 - Janie's Garden
2 - Only You
3 - No Place So Far
4 - Your Love Will Get Me There
5 - Hold on the Jesus
6 - There You Are
7 - Bigger
8 - Some Things Never Change
9 - Damaged Goods
10 - For Me
11 - There Is No Fear in Love