Skip to product information
1 of 1

Greg Long



UPC: 080688605520

Format: CD

Release Date: Mar 06, 2001

Regular price $12.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $12.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel includes: Greg Long (vocals); Carl Marsh (arranger); Todd Collins (various instruments, background vocals); Chris Rodriguez (guitar, background vocals); Michael Hodge, Tommy Collier, David Cleveland, Micah Wilshire (guitar); David Davidson (violin); John Catchings (cello); Love Sponge Orchestra, Nashville String Machine (strings); Dan Muckala (keyboards, programming); Carl Hergsell (keyboards); Jackie Street (bass); Dan Needham (drums); Bernie Herms, Tony Miracle (programming); The Kid Connection, Darwin Hobbs, Josh Cobb, Janna Long, Michael Mellet, Gene Miller, Shandra Bennett, Leanne Pallmore, Duawne Starling (background vocals).
Producers: Chris Rodriguez, Don Koch, Todd Collins.
Engineers: Dave Schober, Patrick Kelly, Kent Hooper.
Fulfilling his earlier promise as a heavyweight anthemic pop singer/songwriter in contemporary Christian music, Greg Long displays a truer expanse of his artistry on this irresistible collection. Power pop expressions of faith like "Sufficiency of Grace" should help add to his accolades within his genre, which at the time of this album's release included six number one hit singles, two Dove Award nominations (including a nod for "Mercy Said No" as Song of the Year), and the number two CCM Song of the Year, "Love the Lord." The only drawback is that a few of the songs tend to be a bit over-synthesized; "I Won't Take You for Granted" is a powerful tale of appreciation, but could benefit from a more stripped down approach. Ditto "Loud and Clear," which takes aim at the electronic approach U2 employed in the late '90s. Fortunately, tender, sparse ballads like the plaintive "In the Waiting" compensate and allow the listener to better appreciate Long's soulful vocals. By far, the best cut is the anthem "We Dream of a Kingdom," which begins gently before stating the ultimate aim of the Christian heart, complete with crunchy guitars and a powerful choir. ~ Jonathan Widran


1 - Sufficiency of Grace
2 - I Won't Take You for Granted
3 - In the Waiting
4 - Loud and Clear
5 - We Dream of a Kingdom
6 - Face of Love
7 - Sacrifice
8 - Help Somebody Cry
9 - Gospel
10 - Holy