Skip to product information
1 of 1

A Ragamuffin Band

Prayers of a Ragamuffin

Prayers of a Ragamuffin

UPC: 080688599027

Format: CD

Release Date: Feb 05, 2021

Regular price $12.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $12.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 4 business days after order placement.

View full details
A Ragamuffin Band: Mark Robertson (vocals, acoustic guitar, bass); Rick Elias (vocals, guitar, keyboards); Jimmy Abegg (vocals, guitar); Aaron Smith (drums, percussion, background vocals).
Additional personnel: The Nashville String Machine (strings); Jim Hoke (saxophone, pennywhistle); Neil Rosengarden (trumpet); Tom Howard (piano); Phil Madeira (organ); Eric Darken (percussion); Linda Elias, Jim Chaffee, Scott Cornett, Chuck Nelson, Susanne Gill, Amy Davis, Janice Chaffee, Chuck Hargett (background vocals).
Following their acclaimed performance on the second half of The Jesus Record, Rich Mullins' former backing unit, A Ragamuffin Band, had a tough task ahead of them -- a year of touring together convinced the group's members to carry on without their former leader and carve out an identity of their own. Given Mullins' immense talent as a songwriter and performer, that's no small feat, but it's one they pull off with Prayers of a Ragamuffin. The band confidently expands its sweet, polished folk-rock sound (Toad the Wet Sprocket might be the closest secular equivalent) to include grand spiritual anthems nearly worthy of U2, lushly orchestrated pop, and Springsteen-ish heartland rock & roll. The overall concept of the album is centered around prayer and its ability to lay the soul bare in all its flawed beauty, but the music itself is just as important in the album's cohesiveness -- it isn't only the tight instrumental work that makes A Ragamuffin Band feel like a rock-solid unit, but also the fact that each member contributes material. No one songwriting voice dominates, which gives the album a healthy variety and yet strengthens the impression that the band is of a similar mindset in the end. It may not be quite as poignant as The Jesus Record, but Prayers of a Ragamuffin is an impressive achievement in its own right. ~ Steve Huey


1 - Make Me an Instrument
2 - Nothing You Don't Know
3 - Brother Sun, Sister Moon
4 - Faith, Hope, Love
5 - Help Thou My Unbelief
6 - My Heart Already Knows
7 - Bouncing Off the Ceiling
8 - God Grant Me Tears
9 - Shout
10 - We'll Be Together Again