Skip to product information
1 of 1

Tricia Brock



UPC: 804147158729

Format: CD

Release Date: Jun 07, 2011

Regular price $4.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $4.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 5 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel: Nick Baumhardt (guitar, acoustic guitar, banjo, programming); Ryan Truso (guitar); Adam Smith (piano); Joey Sanchez (drums); Nathan Thomas, John Denosky (programming); Melissa Brock, Paul Brock (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Ainslie Grosser .
Tricia Brock steps away from her day job in Superchick to make her solo debut with The Road, an album that takes her in a slightly different direction. While Superchick's songs tended to assume a Christian sensibility, clearly enough to get some attention from CCM radio, the band's music carried more of a message of self-empowerment for teenage girls. Brock turns overtly to Christian worship on The Road. Starting with "Breath of God," she addresses herself to her Savior, praising him and declaring her own subservience. On songs like "Lean" and "Everything in Me," empowerment is abandoned in favor of selfless devotion to Jesus, or, at least, understood in the context of humble faith. "I am nothing less than everything to you," Brock sings in the former. The music, bearing the heavy influence of producer Nick Baumhardt, leans toward AC pop and soft rock, with piano and strings often sweetening the arrangements. The obvious antecedent for Brock's approach is the pre-crossover period in Amy Grant's career, but Brock comes off as more emotional and less doctrinaire. Her message concerns a close personal relationship to the Almighty in which she recognizes her own weakness. "Though I am small," she sings in "Impossible," "my God is great." These songs present a more mature and devotional message than those of Superchick, whose fans should be ready to absorb meatier fare if they want to follow Brock on her own. ~ William Ruhlmann


1 - Breath of God
2 - Lean
3 - You Are My Shepherd
4 - You Hear
5 - Jesus, I Am Resting
6 - Altar
7 - Always
8 - Impossible
9 - Everything in Me
10 - Overwhelmed
11 - Broken for Love's Sake