Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sixpence None the Richer

Sixpence None the Richer

Sixpence None the Richer

UPC: 075596242028

Format: CD

Release Date: Jun 14, 1999

Regular price $23.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $23.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Sixpence None The Richer: Leigh Nash (vocals); Matt Slocum (guitar, cello, Wurlitzer piano); Dale Baker (drums, percussion).
Additional personnel: Al Perkins (pedal steel guitar); John Mark Painter (oud, accordion, trumpet, Mellotron, hurdy-gurdy, bells, buhl-buhl); Peter Hyrka, Antoine Silverman, David Davidson (violin); Kris Wilkinson (viola); Tom Howard (piano); Phil Madeira (Hammond B-3 organ); J.J. Plasencio (acoustic & electric basses); Chris Donohue (bass); Mark Nash (hi-hat, cymbals).
SIXPENCE NONE THE RICHER was nominated for the 1999 Grammy Award for Best Rock Gospel Album. "Kiss Me" was nominated for the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Pop Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal.
Personnel: Leigh Nash (vocals); Matt Slocum (guitar, cello); Sean Kelly (guitar); Justin Cary (bass guitar); Dale Baker (drums, percussion).
Recording information: Chelsea Recording Studio; The Carport; The White House.
Photographer: Ben Pearson .
To listen to the self-titled debut from awkwardly named trio Sixpence None The Richer is to stare unflinchingly into the face of late '90s folk-rock. The band is clearly influenced by what's gone before, but their sound is completely modern and original. Fronted by the stylized vocals of Leigh Nash, the band winsomely strums and croons its way through highly personal songs about finding one's way in the world. The influence of folk-poppers like 10,000 Maniacs and Mazzy Star can be heard throughout, in the intimate acoustic guitar rhythms and poignantly conversational vocals, but there's a more progressive Throwing Muses sound at work here as well, keeping SIXPENCE NONE THE RICHER from getting too dewy-eyed.


1 - We Have Forgotten
2 - Anything
3 - Waiting Room
4 - Kiss Me
5 - Easy To Ignore
6 - Puedo Escribir
7 - I Can't Catch You
8 - Lines of My Earth
9 - Sister, Mother
10 - I Won't Stay Long
11 - Love
12 - Moving On
13 - There She Goes