Skip to product information
1 of 1

We the Kings

Smile Kid

Smile Kid

UPC: 807315200725

Format: Enhanced CD

Release Date: Dec 08, 2009

Regular price $6.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $6.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 3 and 5 business days after order placement.

View full details
Personnel: Travis Clark (vocals, guitar, piano, programming); Hunter Thomsen (vocals, guitar); Danny Duncan (drums); Dave Katz , Grant Michaels, Sam Hollander (programming).
Audio Mixer: Jon Kaplan.
Recording information: East Side Sound, New York, NY; Fresh Kills Music, New York, NY; Monster Island Studios, New York, NY; Red Bull Studios, Los Angeles, CA; The Pocket Studios, Toronto, Canada.
Editor: Jeffrey Swart.
Photographers: Clay Patrick McBride; Anderson Hopkins.
With their 2007 debut, We the Kings modeled their sound after groups like Jimmy Eat World and The Academy Is, mixing slickly produced pop songs and bleeding-heart lyrics to tuneful effect. The approach may have been familiar, but songs like "Check Yes Juliet" still packed one hell of a sugary punch, and the Kings became emo royalty as a result. Smile Kid arrives two years after that album's release, bringing with it another batch of hooks and a polished, compressed sound courtesy of producers S*A*M & SLUGGO. Frontman Travis Clark knows his audience well, and his summery songs appeal to everything that emo pop fans find holy. The guitar riffs are anthemic, the melodies are supersized, and the lyrics rarely stray from such carpe diem sentiments as "Let's make champagne rain down from the sky, let's toast to the night!" Older listeners might not get it, but the Kings' fans should find plenty to smile about with this release. ~ Andrew Leahey


1 - She Takes Me High
2 - Promise The Stars
3 - Heaven Can Wait
4 - Story of Your Life
5 - Rain Falls Down
6 - Summer Love
7 - In-N-Out (Animal Style)
8 - Spin
9 - Anna Maria (All We Need)
10 - We'll Be a Dream
11 - What You Do to Me
12 - Heaven Can Wait [Acoustic]
13 - She Takes Me High [Acoustic]
14 - Heaven Can Wait [Music Video]