Skip to product information
1 of 1

Third Day

Third Day

Third Day

UPC: 602341620321

Format: CD

Release Date: Jan 01, 1996

Regular price $13.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $13.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is expected to ship between 4 and 6 business days after order placement.

View full details
Third Day: Mac Powell (vocals, acoustic guitar); Mark Lee (acoustic & electric guitars); Brad Avery (guitar, background vocals); Tai Anderson (bass); David Carr (drums, percussion).
Choir: Jill Bullard, Chris Carder, David Carr, Melissa Chandler, Jennifer DeSilets, Phil Jones, Jane Jones, Kristine McGuire, Dina Vanderpoel, Steve Winkler.
Additional personnel: Bob Lehman (acoustic guitar); Kenny Hutson (dobro, mandolin); David Mardis (lap steel guitar); Rich Mullins (hammered dulcimer); Alexis Mears, Chad Merritt, Kristie Vanderpoel (strings); Matt Still (Hammond B-3 organ); Alfreda Gerald, Taj Harmon, Phil Jones, Chris Carder (background vocals).
Engineers: Matt Still, Ed Burdell, David Mardis.
Recorded at Furies Studios and Bosstown Studios, Atlanta, Georgia.
Third Day's debut album is a great introduction to this Southern Christian rock band, led by lead singer/guitarist Mac Powell. The band's style can be summarized as Hootie & the Blowfish meets Lynyrd Skynyrd meets Pearl Jam. The first album emphasizes the straight-ahead classic rock sound. It produced songs that would become Third Day concert fixtures -- like the dramatic "Thief," told from the point of view of one of the other criminals who were crucified with Jesus, the anthemic "Consuming Fire," and the sentimental "Love Song." Other good album tracks include the ballad "Take My Life," "Nothing at All," and the condemning "Did You Mean It?" This album easily has crossover appeal for people who don't normally listen to Christian rock. The band's musicianship and originality shines through. This album probably remains Third Day's purest, most focused work. 1997's Conspiracy No. 5 would bring in a more alternative grunge sound. The band has never been more accessible as right here. ~ Steven Jacobetz


1 - Nothin' at All
2 - Forever
3 - Mama
4 - Love Song
5 - Blackbird
6 - Thief
7 - Consuming Fire
8 - Did You Mean It
9 - Holy Spirit
10 - Livin' For Jesus
11 - Take My Life
12 - Praise Song