Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sandi Patty & Kathy Troccoli



UPC: 766322102227

Format: CD

Release Date: Jul 27, 1999

Regular price $4.95 USD
Regular price Sale price $4.95 USD
Sale Sold out

This item is currently out of stock and may be on backorder.

View full details
Personnel includes: Sandi Patti, Kathy Troccoli (vocals); Mark Gasbarro (arranger, piano); Bob Krogstad (arranger); John Chiodini (guitar); Steve Huffsteter (flugelhorn); Bruce Lett (bass); Ray Brinker (drums).
Recorded at O'Henry Studios, Burbank, California.
Best known for their popularity in the Christian music market, these two singing dynamos create a nearly religious experience combining Troccoli's love for Judy Garland's legendary performances and Patty's attachment to Gershwin, and then meeting in the middle for two brand new odes to nostalgia, the passion ballad "The Last Day" and the lush, almost tearful "I Remember." These two new numbers were produced and arranged by Robbie Buchanan, and while they are nice tunes covering the theme of looking back, they pale in comparison to the standards. Their performances are exquisite, but some of the credit needs to go to the slew of arrangers and musical settings they work with. Orchestra Indianapolis, which backs the snappy, big band brassy explosion of Gypsy's "Together (Wherever We Go")" and tener but dramatic renditions of "Summertime," "The Man I Love" and "Over The Rainbow," is arranged by Bob Krogstad. Mark Gasbarro works wonders with both The Crown Project (small band) on "They Can't Take That Away From Me" and "Embraceable You" as well as the Project's big band with snazzy arrangements of "Come Rain or Come Shine," "A Foggy Day," and the sly, spunky brassy percussiveness of "The Trolley Song." This labor of love's tag line "A Celebration of Classic Popular Songs from Garland To Gershwin" says it all. It's hard to miss with such fine material, but even harder when those singing it have felt the passion of every note. ~ Jonathan Widran


1 - Together (Wherever We Go)
2 - Last Day
3 - Embraceable You
4 - Foggy Day
5 - Come Rain or Come Shine
6 - Summertime
7 - You Made Me Love You
8 - I Remember
9 - They Can't Take That Away from Me
10 - Trolley Song
11 - Man I Love
12 - Over the Rainbow
13 - Get Happy/Happy Days Are Here Again